Adichie wins top women's fiction honour

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Half of a Yellow Sun has topped a list of the last decade's winners of the Baileys Women's Fiction Prize.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
She won the "Best of the Best" award as part of the celebrations to mark 20 years of the annual £30,000 prize.

Nigerian author Adichie won in 2007 for her story, her second novel, set during the Biafran War of the 1960s.

Adicihie said she was "grateful and happy", adding: "This is a prize I have a lot of respect and admiration for."

The 38-year-old novelist continued: "Over the years it's [the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction] brought wonderful literature to a wide readership that might not have found many of the books.

"I have a lot of respect for the books that have won in the past 10 years and also for the books that have been shortlisted - I feel I am in very good company."

Other winners of the Baileys Prize from the last decade include Zadie Smith for On Beauty, Rose Tremain for The Road Home and Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-formed Thing.

Source: BBC
Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment