BREAKING: Fayemi wins Ekiti APC governorship primary

Former Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has won the All Progressives Congress governorship primary election.

Fayemi polled a total of 941 votes to beat former  Governor Segun Oni who scored 481 and 31 other aspirants in the rescheduled primary election held under a very right security.

The chairman of the Ekiti State Governorship Primary Electoral Committee announced the number of votes scored by each aspirant but the scores had not been tallied as at the time of filing this report.

Fayemi’s total votes scored out of 2337 delegates put him far ahead of other aspirants while Oni came second and Kayode Ojo came third with 281 votes

There were no delegates left inside the hall where the primary was held as they had been compelled by security agents  to leave immediately after casting their ballots.

There is no protest from any of the 33 governorship aspirants in the auditorium yet unlike what happened during the botched first primary election.

Some of the aspirants such as Biodun Amudipe and Patrick Adekunle did not score a single vote while Senator Ayo Arise; Bamidele Olumilua’s son, Muyiwa polled two votes and Opeyemi Bamidele scored eight votes.

With his victory,  Fayemi, who was governor in the state between October 16, 2010, and 2014 will now face the incumbent Deputy Governor Kolapo Olusola, who is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party and heavily supported by Governor Ayodele Fayose in the election on July 14.

Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment