APC wins Jigawa State bye-election

Muhammad Musa Fagen-Gawo of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Jigawa bye-election after polling 48,318 votes.

He is son to the deceased member representing Garki/Babura Federal constituency, Fagen Gawo.

The presiding officer, Professor Ahmad Shehu Kutama, made the declaration at the Collation centre in Babura local Government on Sunday.

According to him, Muhammad Adamu defeated Nasir Garba Dantiye of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 24,135 votes and Bashir Umar of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) who got 458 votes.

Earlier on, Danjuma Kasimu of the All Progressives Congress emerged the winner of the rerun election for Rijau/Magama Federal Constituency in Niger State.

Kasimu pulled a total of 23,085 votes ahead of his closest rival, Alamu Emmanuel of the People’s Democratic Party who scored 16,812 votes.

The candidate of APGA Shehu Saleh Rijau scored 8,670 votes.

Announcing the results at the collation centre in Rijau, Professor Mohammed Abdullahi said Danjuma Kasimu having won the highest votes cast and fulfilled the requirement of the law is declared winner and returned elected.

The seat of Magama/Rijau Federal Constituency in Niger state was declared vacant by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamiala following the death of the member representing the constituency, Ja’afaru Iliyasu on December 2.
~Channels Tv
Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment