Kano confirms 2 more COVID-19 deaths with total national infections now 1,273

Governor Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano

The Kano State government has confirmed the death of two more patients who tested positive for coronavirus (COVID-19) in the state.

The state Ministry of Health announced this in a tweet, saying that was the situation in Kano as of 12:15pm on Monday.

It would be recalled that over 600 people have died in the state over the past week in what has been described as a strange disease although many are linking the strange deaths to COVID-19.

However, the official death as announced by the state brings the total number of COVID-19 patients that have died in the state to three.

Nonetheless, the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has yet to update its figure for Kano.

A total of 77 cases of coronavirus have been reported in Kano while the state has yet to record any recovery from the disease.

As at 12:15pm 27th April 2020, @KanostateNg records an additional 2 deaths of #COVID19#StayHomeSaveLives #StaySafeNigeria pic.twitter.com/VcPeqJEmuJ

— Kano State Ministry of Health (@KNSMOH) April 27, 2020

The tweet by the state government came hours after the NCDC confirmed 91 new infections in its latest update on the COVID-19 outbreak in the country.

In an early-morning tweet on Monday, the health agency noted that Taraba recorded six cases while Kebbi, Ebonyi, and Bayelsa recorded one infection each – the first to be reported in the states.

Other states where new cases were reported are Lagos – 43; Kaduna – five; Gombe – five; the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) – three.

The rest include Bauchi – three; Ondo – three; Oyo – three; Edo – three; Rivers – three; Osun – two; Sokoto – eight; and Akwa Ibom – one.

This brings the number of confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the country to 1,273, with the death toll also rising to 40 while 239 people have been discharged.

A total of 32 states, and the FCT have recorded at least one case of COVID-19 while the NCDC also revealed that four states recorded new deaths.

They are Osun – two, Oyo – one, Rivers – one, and Katsina – one.
~Channels tv

Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment