Buhari swears in 3 INEC national commissioners as FEC commences

During the swearing in 

President Muhammadu Buhari has sworn in three National Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

They include Dr Baba Bila representing the North-East zone, Professor Sani Adam, representing the North-Central zone and Professor Abdullahi Abdu, representing the North-West zone.

The swearing-in took place on Wednesday just before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council meeting which held at the conference room of the First Lady’s office at the State House.

Speaking after the ceremony the INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, said: “we want to assure Nigerians that we will continue to do our best and continue to improve the transparency and credibility of elections in Nigeria.

“The new commissioners that have just been sworn in are bringing with them cumulated, intellectual and administrative experience and I’m confident that they will add value to our work”.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha are among those physically in attendance.

Also present are the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed; the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami; as well as the Minister for Water Resources, Suleiman Adamu.

Others include Ministers of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed; Works and Housing, Babtunde Fashola and Interior, Rauf Aregbeshola.
~Channels tv
Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment