AFCON 2021: Mane, Aboubakar, Mendy win awards as Senegal beats Egypt 4-2

L-r: Aboubakar, Mane and Mendy

Cameroon captain, Vincent Aboubakar and Senegal stars, Sadio Mane and Edouard Mendy won awards following the conclusion of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON.

Senegal on Sunday defeated Egypt 4-2 on penalties to win the 2021 AFCON trophy in Cameroon.

The 2021 AFCON final match between Senegal and Egypt ended in a 0-0 draw after 120 minutes.

Mane scored the winning penalty against Egypt to ensure Senegal won their first AFCON.

However, after the conclusion of the 2021 AFCON, Mane was named Player of the Tournament after leading the Teranga Lions to their first-ever AFCON title on Sunday.

Mendy won the best goalkeeper award as the Chelsea shot-stopper conceded only two goals during 2021 AFCON and blocked a penalty in the shootout against Egypt.

Aboubakar, meanwhile, won the Golden Boot award after scoring a tally of 8 goals in the tournament.
Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment