Principal officers named for 10th Senate, Bamidele, Umahi, Ndume in, opposition kicks

L-r: Bamidele, Umahi, Ndume, Ashiru

News coming out of the National Assembly has it that Senate President Godswill Akpabio has announced the principal officers of the 10th Senate, which he says emerged by consensus.

The new officers are Senator Opeyemi Bamidele from Ekiti State as Senate Leader, Senator Dave Umahi from Ebonyi State as Deputy Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume from Borno State as Chief Whip, and Senator Lola Ashiru from Kwara State as Deputy Chief Whip.

Akpabio also announced the names of minority principal officers.

They are Senator Simon Davou (Plateau North – PDP, Minority Leader), Oyewunmi Olarere (Osun West – PDP, Deputy Minority Leader), Darlington Nwokeocha (Abia Central – LP, Minority Whip), Rufai Hanga (Kano Central – NNPP, Deputy Minority Whip).

Interesting, and shortly after the announcement, Daniel Bwala, a spokesperson to the PDP presidential candidate in the last election, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, who actually said he wasn’t too familiar with the content of the list being read at the time as breaking story, expressed the feeling that it was more of the handiwork of the ruling APC, than a product of consensus as claimed by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio.

He however said he would take time to look at the list, especially as it concerns the opposition, as what was being read to him at the time on a program of Channels’ Television, Political Paradigm sounded like a fake news, using his words.
Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment