Just In: New UK PM announces first cabinet appointments after landslide Labour victory

 Keir Starmer, UK’s Newly-elected Prime Minister

Newly-elected UK Prime Minister Keir Starmer has announced his first set of cabinet appointments just hours after leading the Labour Party to a decisive general election victory that ended 14 years of Conservative rule

Starmer, who is the UK's 58th Prime Minister and Labour's 7th, made the appointments after meeting with King Charles III at Buckingham Palace to form a new government

His initial cabinet selections include:

*Angela Rayner as Deputy Prime Minister and Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities

*Rachel Reeves as the UK's first female Chancellor of the Exchequer

*David Lammy as Foreign Secretary

*Yvette Cooper as Home Secretary

*John Healey as Defence Secretary

*Pat McFadden as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

*Ed Miliband as Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero

*Bridget Phillipson as Education Secretary

*Wes Streeting as Health Secretary

*Shabana Mahmood as Justice Secretary

Starmer's new cabinet has been described as a significant shift in the UK's political landscape, with the most ethnically diverse and female-inclusive parliament in the country's history

The Labour leader has pledged to "restore public trust in politics" and "rebuild" Britain following the Conservatives' crushing defeat.

Details later…

Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment