Rivers Governor Siminalayi Fubara swears in 23 caretaker committee chairmen

Gov Fubara swearing in the caretakers

Rivers State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara, has formally sworn in 23 new caretaker chairmen for the state's 23 local government areas. The ceremony took place on Wednesday, June 19, 2024, at the Government House in Port Harcourt, the state capital, amidst tight security measures.

According to a Channels Television report, the exercise was carried out at the Council Chambers with the first batch of 11 CTC chairmen taking their oath of office.

The development was coming a day after the governor forwarded the list to the state House of Assembly led by factional Speaker, Victor Jumbo.

The lawmakers had invited the nominees for screening as early as 8 am on Wednesday.

Below are names of the caretaker chairmen nominated by Fubara:

1. Abua/Odua LGA – Madigai Dickson

2. Ahoada East LGA – Happy Benneth

3. Ahoada West LGA – Mr. Daddy John Green

4. Akuku Toru LGa – Otonye BriggsAndoni LGA – Reginald Ekaan

5. Asari Toru LGA – Orolosoma Amachree

6. Bonny LGA – Alabota Anengi Barasua

7. Degema LGA – Anthony Soberekon

8. Eleme LGA – Brain Gokpa

9. Emouha LGA – David Omereji

10. Etche LGA – John Otamiri

11. Gokana LGA – Kenneth Kpeden

12. Ikwerre LGA – Darlington Orji

13. Khana LGA – Marvin Yobana

14. Obia/Akpor LGA – Chijioke Ihunwo

15. Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA – Princewill Ejekwe

16. Ogu/Bolo LGA – Evans Bipi

17 Okrika LGA – Princess Ogan

18. Omuma LGA – Promise Reginald

19. Opobo/Nkoro LGA – Enyiada Cookey-Gam

20. Oyigbo LGA – – Gogo Philip

21. Port Harcourt LGA – Ichemati Ezebunwo

22. Tai LGA – Matthew Dike

23. Gokana LGA – Kenneth Kpeden

The development adds another twist to the political crisis in the state months after the Rivers Assembly passed the Local Government Amendment Bill into law.

While Fubara did not assent to the bill, the lawmakers led by Martin Amaewhule vetoed him.

The law empowered the Rivers State Assembly to extend the tenure of council chairpersons, their vice, and councillors where it is deemed impossible to hold elections before the end of their three-year tenure.

But a court nullified the amended law, prompting an appeal. The appeal court is set to deliver a ruling on the matter on June 20, 2024.

In the wake of the disagreement over the tenure elongation of the local chairpersons and councillors, Rowland Sekibo and Onengiyeofori George of Akuku-Toru and Asari-Toru local government councils respectively called for peace after youths barricaded the secretariats on Monday.

They insist that their tenure was duly extended by the Amaewhule-led assembly.

But on Tuesday, June 18, 2024, some youths of Ijaw extraction camped outside the Port Harcourt Local Government Area Secretariat in solidarity with Fubara’s directive.

They sat in canopies, sang, danced, and waved the Ijaw Youth Congress flags. Some of them displayed placards with solidarity messages for Fubara amid heavy security presence.

Earlier, police authorities in the oil-rich state cautioned against trouble, warning that they would clamp down on such.

The Rivers Commissioner of Police Olatunji Disu who spoke at the police headquarters in Port Harcourt assured residents of peace. He appealed to politicians and their supporters to respect the appeal and cease hostilities pending the hearing and determination of their case.

He, however, cautioned that Rivers Police Command is combat-ready and won’t condone any attempt to disturb the peace in the South-South state.

~Channels tv

Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment