Tinubu appoints new leaders for Police Service Commission and Nigeria Police Trust Fund

President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of DIG Hashimu Argungu (Rtd) as the Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC). 

Additionally Chief Onyemuche Nnamani has been appointed as Secretary, and DIG Taiwo Lakanu (Rtd) as a member of the Commission. 

Following the approval of Hashimu Argungu, a retired Deputy Inspector General of Police, as the new Chairman of the PSC, the tenure of Solomon Arase, also a retired Inspector General of Police and the incumbent Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC), has come to an end.

Arase was initially appointed by former President Muhammadu Buhari on January 24, 2023, and inaugurated on April 29, 2023, after clearing the Senate.

The Police Service Commission Act stipulates that a member of the Commission, excluding ex-officio members, shall hold office for a term of four years and no more. With Argungu's appointment, Arase's term as Chairman of the PSC has concluded.

The new appointments, however, are subject to confirmation by the Senate.

The President has also approved the appointment of Mr. Mohammed Sheidu as the Executive Secretary of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund (NPTF) with immediate effect. 

A State House press release states that President Tinubu expects absolute demonstration of integrity, diligence, and patriotic zeal in the discharge of these important functions for the overall wellbeing of the Nigeria Police and the nation.

The appointments were announced by Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity) in the press release. The President indicated that other members of the Police Service Commission will be appointed in due course.

Share on Google Plus

About Newsmart


Post a Comment